Finding Your Writing Flow

Some tools I use to make my daily work easier

Photo by Bench Accounting on Unsplash

I have found that using the same playlist every time I write helps me get into flow on those difficult writing days. I turn my playlist on and the words start flowing from my fingers. I find the motivation to write and write longer than I usually would while my playlist plays. I have trained my mind to write when I hear this music so my mind writes on command. It is an excellent tool to use to help me improve my production and make my self-imposed deadlines.

On the days that my mind resists even my playlist, I have other tools to use which I will share below.

  1. Writing around the same time every day; morning and/or evening.
  2. A hot cup of tea or coffee
  3. A quiet space
  4. A change of space in my home. I like to write out on my balcony, sitting at the dining room table, or on the floor in my bedroom when my usual desk and chair is feeling too confining.
  5. A change of place. Some days you just have to get out of your house and go visit a coffee shop, park, or sit in your car somewhere to get away from all the distractions of home.
  6. I will pull out a pen and notebook on the toughest days or when I want to go low-tech. I usually have a notebook with me wherever I…

--

--

Julia Freeman, Trauma Recovery Coach

I believe survivors of narcissistic abuse and domestic violence deserve to live in freedom and peace.